Fost Plus

fost plus logo

Fost Plus is the driving force behind a unique ecosystem, in which public and private partners collaborate intensively on a circular economy and a sustainable society. Together they made Belgium a frontrunner in packaging recycling.

Accredited organization since 1997.

The non-profit organization Fost Plus is a government-recognized organization responsible for the selective collection, sorting and recycling of household packaging waste in Belgium. The organization was established in 1994 as a voluntary initiative by the business community. Shortly thereafter, the selective collection of household packaging waste was introduced in Belgium and the first PMD bags appeared on the streets. In 2020, Fost Plus still is a non-profit organization. The Board of Directors contains representatives of companies and business federations.

The core activities of Fost Plus

  • Fost Plus is responsible for the collection, sorting and recycling of packaging for household products. Specifically, Fost Plus finances and coordinates the following collections:
    • Door-to-door PMD collection via the blue bag.
    • The collection of glass via the glass bins or door-to-door.
    • Door-to-door collection of paper-cardboard.

In addition, Fost Plus also finances the collection of this and other household packaging at container parks, including residual plastic (pink bag), plastic foil, flower pots, styrofoam and packaging in small hazardous waste (SHW).

Fost Plus

fost plus logo

Fost Plus est le moteur d’un écosystème unique, au sein duquel des partenaires publics et privés collaborent de manière intensive pour promouvoir une économie circulaire et une société durable. Ensemble, ils ont fait de la Belgique un précurseur sur le plan du recyclage des emballages.

Une organisation agréée depuis 1997.

L’asbl Fost Plus est une organisation agréée par les pouvoirs publics, chargée de la collecte sélective, du tri et du recyclage des déchets d’emballages ménagers en Belgique. L'organisation a été fondée en 1994 sur une initiative volontaire du secteur privé. La collecte sélective des déchets d’emballages ménagers en Belgique a été lancée peu après, avec l’apparition des premiers sacs PMC dans les rues. En 2020, Fost Plus est toujours une asbl. Son Conseil d’administration se compose de représentants d’entreprises et de fédérations professionnelles.

Les activités principales de Fost Plus

  • Fost Plus est responsable de la collecte, du tri et du recyclage des emballages de produits ménagers. Concrètement, Fost Plus finance et coordonne les activités de collecte suivantes :
    • La collecte en porte-à-porte des PMC via le sac bleu.
    • La collecte du verre via les bulles à verre ou en porte-à-porte.
    • La collecte en porte-à-porte du papier-carton.

Fost Plus finance en outre la collecte de ces emballages et d’autres emballages ménagers dans les parcs à conteneurs, comme les plastiques résiduels (sac rose), les films plastiques, les pots de fleurs, la frigolite et les emballages des déchets spéciaux des ménages (DSM) ou déchets chimiques des ménages (DCM).